Google+

Gadgets

Leave a comment

January 12, 2013 by falcon7204

I got a tablet for Christmas. It’s pretty cool. Kind of like Star Trek come to life. I did a video chat with my brother in Pennsylvania, edited some documents, read emails, and checked the radar.

Oh, yeah, and played some Angry Birds Star Wars.

This makes the second tablet in my house. All told, we have (in addition to the tablets) two smart phones, three laptops, one desktop computer,a flip phone, two HD TV sets, a GPS, and a DSLR that shoots 1080p video. And two iPhones being used as iPods and a traditional iPod.

When I was a child we had a black and white TV and a dial up phone. And an AM radio.

My, how things have changed.

Where are we going with all this tech stuff? Sure, we can access information much more quickly, get different opinions about issues, even get news that isn’t biased. We can do so much, but my question is, are we? Is all this stuff really making our lives better?

Every day when I get on Twitter I get so angry about the way things are. I get frustrated when I read the news that doesn’t come from the alphabet networks, then I read the propaganda coming from the mainstream media. I’m sure my blood pressure isn’t benefiting. But what are we doing besides getting more information out there?

There has to be more. We have to figure out a way to make all this tech work for us, just like we need to figure out how to make social media make a difference. I know some are trying, but how can we make it do more?

I don’t want Twitter or Google Plus to turn into the internet equivalent of reality TV (I think Facebook already has). I think there are so many thoughtful, creative people out there that can make this happen, people far more creative than me, who can truly unchain all this technology for the benefit of humanity. Otherwise all this stuff ends up as expensive toys and we continue our societal decline.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, it’s back to Angry Birds.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,125 other followers

Pages

